2022 AICGS-KAS Transatlantic Trade Week

Monday, May 10, 2022 10:30 am to 12:00 pm EDT/ 16:30 to 18:00 CEST; Thursday, May 12, 2022 10:00 to 11:00 am EDT/ 16:00 to 17:00 CEST

May 10 – Session One

Trade and Values

This session will examine transatlantic cooperation to promote equitable economic growth through trade by advancing Western values, norms, and principles. The U.S.-EU Trade and Technology Council, the U.S.-EU steel agreement, options for a climate club, how to square U.S.-EU efforts for values-driven trade with WTO rules, and supply chain standards will be a focus of this session.


Speakers

Daniel Caspary, Member of the European Parliament (European People’s Party) and member of European Parliament Committee on International Trade

Jennifer Hillman, Co-Director, Center on Inclusive Trade and Development and Professor of Practice, Georgetown University Law Center

Daniel Price, Managing Director, Rock Creek Global Advisors

William Reinsch, Senior Advisor and Scholl Chair in International Business, Center for Strategic and International Studies

Moderator

Peter Rashish, Director, Geoeconomics Program, AICGS

Watch


May 12 – Session Two

Trade and Security

Over the past year, the United States and the European Union have made progress on resolving several bilateral trade disputes surrounding tariffs, subsidies, and taxes that plagued their relationship for years if not decades. In a context of greater harmony in their bilateral relations—and just days ahead of the second meeting of the U.S.-EU Trade and Technology Council near Paris—this session will explore avenues for advancing transatlantic global interests through trade policy, with a focus on how the U.S., Germany, and the EU can shape the international economic system so that it more effectively responds to the disruptive effects of China’s non-market economic behavior. It will also address the implications of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine for the future relationship between trade and national security, including the role of the World Trade Organization.


Speakers

Erik Brattberg, Senior Vice President, Europe Practice, Albright Stonebridge Group

Laura von Daniels, Head of the Americas Research Division, German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP)

Julia Friedlander, Director of the Economic Statecraft Initiative, GeoEconomics Center, Atlantic Council

Peter Rashish, Director, Geoeconomics Program, AICGS

Moderator

Marianne Schneider-Petsinger, Senior Research Fellow, U.S. and the Americas Program, and Project Lead, Global Trade Policy Forum, Chatham House

Watch


This event is supported by and presented in partnership with the the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung.